CHAMPIONS! Men's Cross Country Takes Home NECC Title

CHAMPIONS! Men's Cross Country Takes Home NECC Title

Westfield, Mass. – Led by a trio of top ten finishers, the Dean College men's cross-country team laid claim to the 2018 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Championship on a drizzly Sunday morning at Stanley State Park.

All five of the Bulldogs' scoring runners placed in the top 20 and three of them earned all-conference honors.

Dean totaled 48 points, well ahead of second place Southern Vermont (61) and third place Elms (66), while Newbury (72) and Mitchell (92) rounded out the field.

Ryan Glynn (Abington, Mass.) crossed the finish line in third-place to pace the Bulldog contingent, wrapping up the 8K layout in just 29:46 – nearly a full minute faster than he posted in his sixth-place finish at last year's championship.

Glynn was followed by Ross Rubin (Annadale, Vt.) and his sixth-place effort in a time of 29:58 and Yuriy Buttrick (Georgetown, Mass.), who churned out an eighth-place showing in 30:22.

John LaMagna (Ossining, N.Y.) was next to cross the finish line for Dean ending the course in 31:41, good for 13th place overall.

The Bulldogs' final scoring finisher was Cameron Barnes (Haverhill, Mass.) in 25th place in a time of 34:03, while Dean's other two runners were Paul Ridikas (Norwood, Mass.) in 33rd place (38:47) and Sebastian Wisnivesky (Scarsdale, N.Y.) in 45th place (45:37).

2018 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Men's Cross Country Honors

Runner of the Year: David Still (Mitchell)
Rookie of the Year: Ricky Elmer (Elms)
Coach of the Year: Jarrett Blankenship (Southern Vermont)

Mark Garceau – Mitchell
Ross Rubin – Dean
Davante Smith – Southern Vermont
Ricky Elmer – Elms
Ryan Glynn – Dean
Caldwell Holden – Southern Vermont
David Still – Mitchell

Robert Gorman – Eastern Nazarene
John LaMagna – Dean
Donald Cianciolo – Elms
David Naghton – New England College
Geralson Winthrow – Newbury
Ben Wiggin – New England College

Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team
Sebastian Wisnivesky – Dean
Kevin Rodriguez – Eastern Nazarene
Rich Hernandez – Elms
Mike Flemming – Lesley
Evan Crystal – Mitchell
David Naghton – New England College
Geralson Withrow – Newbury